Posted in NCPTS - Standard 4

Use of Storify

Storify is a great site for creating stories and linking to outside sources like Twitter as a way to communicate with parents, students and other public forums. I am still a little unsure about how to use it in the classroom. When I researched samples on the internet, I saw that it is used almost as a running news story of a particular event.  Some people used it as a way to post moments throughout a concert and others used it as a way to post recent developments in a news story.

One way I plan on using it in the classroom is to create an online record of an event that we have at school for parents who might not be able to make it because of work or other commitments.  I think this will be a great way to keep them connected to the class and their child. We have two events coming up where I might explore this site.  I hope to make use of this for our class trip and Science Olympiad event coming up in April and May. I think this will be a great way to keep parents informed about what we are doing throughout the day.  If anyone has other ideas or suggestions, I would love to hear them.

Author:

I am a 5th grade teacher at Barringer Academic Center in Charlotte, NC

Leave a Reply

